Tuesday, September 12, 2017

RtW & Pals Fave Childhood Halloween Costumes



Brian is joined by blogging buddies Will (of Casserole of Disaster) and David (of Retro Ghouls) to discuss some of our favorite childhood Halloween costume memories! We discuss some of our earliest costumes, most embarrassing ones, parental ingenuity, and run the gamut from robots to iconic movie characters and serial killers plus more! Embrace the Halloween season and join us for this jaunt down memory lane! Video best enjoyed while wearing an uncomfortable mask.

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

RtW Live Chat!


This Saturday night! Head over to the RtW Facebook around 11P EST and join us! It's not Sarahah but you can interact and ask questions live. We may even kill David of Dark Entries with hot sauce + cameos from Will’s dozen pets.

Here's the archived video!:

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Elderflower Lemonade & Lemoncocco



Sat amongst donkeys and bulls and chomping on tacos RtW mastermind Brian is joined by Texas pal Toby to drink two completely randomly selected soft drinks. Elderflower Lemonade is a new floral twist on an old summertime treat and Lemoncocco an Italian favorite. Will our fearless flavor trendsetters approve of these unique beverages? Will they conduct a science experiment? Tune in and find out!

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Lemon & Chile Picante Plantain Chips



Plantain in the membrane! While visiting my pal Toby in Texas I stumbled across two curious flavors of plantain chip: Lemon and Chile Picante! The two of us braved our taste buds and chomped on some seasoned cardboard, I mean, treats! Watch us marvel at fruit flavored fruit, encounter "acid lovers", prove ourselves, and share a spice for life!

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Bag of Random 2006 Mementos



Aloha! This summer I’ll be traveling all across the country visiting and filming with various blogging buddies. That means super fun times for yours truly but also deliciously handcrafted content for you the RtW fans. In the interim I shot this crazily impromptu video where I examine the contents of a bag containing random junk, personal artifacts, and bric-a-brac a lot of which dates back to 2006 or thereabouts. So, grab a root beer or your favorite snack or legumes and spend some time with me as I whip out a dollop of detritus from the past!

Saturday, April 22, 2017

Christmas Box of Crap

Greetings gang! Recently I stormed social media via the RtW Facebook & Twitter to poll fans, followers, and freaks on what they want to see here on Review the World. There was an overwhelming support for more written articles a la RtW's early days so I'm dusting off either my typewriter or ink and quill then reciting my prose to a stenographer who'll type it all up in a palatable digital form and ensure it gets delivered to each and every one of your eyes!

To shake off the cobwebs I'm opening a file of an unused, untouched article I'd started a draft of the first week of 2017 then left to rot while I doodled Street Sharks on scrap paper and made long distance phone calls. And to think I thought the Hulk Hogan Hotline was still in service!



This past Christmas I got a very pleasant surprise. While attending the annual Christmas party for my wife's side of the family I received a box of pure unadulterated pop ephemera and utter junk. The family's a large crowd so we draw names and exchange gifts. Typically this yields in either A) me getting a Best Buy or Amazon gift card because I love movies but who can keep track of what I've seen and/or already own, or B) a restaurant gift card because I also dig sustenance.

But kudos go out to Heather who was incredibly thoughtful and handpicked a box full of just the sort of randomness that makes RtW's neon green heart tick. Not only was it an odd assortment of clearance bin detritus but it was also in a box with an old school Review the World logo adorning the side!

This was really one of my favorite gifts this past Christmas period. I decided I'd give it tribute by embarking on a full-scale review of its cluttered contents. But here's the thing: that was four months ago and after only taking a handful of pictures of individual items and being intermittently low on groceries or snacks at home I ended up enjoying most of it all by my lonesome. So while it deserved an in-depth review I'll have to pay my respects via crude macaroni art I'll cobble together while watching that zany Robin Williams' poop scene in RV and the meager offerings below.


Seasonally appropriate here's Herr's Peppermint Puffs! Right away I knew I was in good hands. See, Herr's and RtW are no strangers: we've reviewed their Bacon Cheddar Cheese Curls and their Buffalo Blue Cheese Curls. And quite frankly I love their stuff. Vastly underrated in the snacking department. And it's generally cheaply priced to boot.


This is also not the first time I've had their balls in my mouth. I mean -- well, er, let's start over. I've had their Cotton Candy Snack Balls which are royal blue and in no way resemble anything you should actually be ingesting but are surprisingly not loathsome. These are also pretty rad in the visual department with the red speckling on white calling to mind PEPPERMINT in all caps and/or Lady Snowblood depending on your cultural cache.



I even brought the kids in for the taste test and they got the big 'ol Siskel & Ebert two thumbs up! Again, Herr's, an unsung hero in the snack aisle. Definitely seek their stuff out or if unavailable locally find a spot to order online. Their cheese curls will one day be our currency.


So here's one you can likely find within 5 min. from home at your nearest grocery or corner store. But at the time these were brand-spanking new to store shelves. Also available in a mint variety I've sadly yet to try, these candy bars by the cats at Hershey's promise the melding of said candy bar with cookies. In theory? A dope idea.


In execution? Nailed it. In fact I just had one of these last week. My local Kroger grocery had a bunch of discounted candy bars near the entrance for fifty cents and I procured a few for standby snacking. Those six-hour UFC event telecasts offer ample opportunities for sensational snacking. And if you're wanting to know how it tastes I'll certainly vouch for some of the better caramel seen inside candy bars in recent memory plus the mixture of crunchy cookie bits with luscious gooey caramel is a win for all.


These blind bag (or box) tiny toys are available in nearly hundreds of different varieties with almost every property imaginable having its own iteration. So whether you like princesses, LEGO, horror icons, etc. there's a set for you to buy relentlessly until you eventually find the one figurine you've been chasing.


Fighting video games were always more of my brother's passion but I always had fun with them while never mastering a fighter's repertoire or even being particularly good at them aside from wildly mashing buttons on Marvel vs. Capcom: Clash of Super Heroes at the arcade once and making it to the final boss. Here's the dilemma with these blind bags: looking at the possible ten figurines on the back there was only one I didn't want and wouldn't you guess it?



I got the only one I wasn't interested in. Now to be fair this is not indicative of the character's worth or intrinsic value just my unfamiliarity with him. Who even is he? Seth. No I'm not kidding. Really, I'm not joking, please stop guffawing. That's the name of this wildly alien-like character. Seth. Sounds like the kid that sat behind you in science class in seventh grade. Apparently he's a silver synthetic being who debuted in Street Fighter IV. Looking like a cross between Doctor Manhattan and Silver Surfer he's 100% stupid and 100% mine. My kingdom for a Zangief.

Monday, February 6, 2017

Grass & Dirt Soda



Ever mow the lawn with your mouth? Now you can theoretically do just that — or wisely don’t and just allow RtW’s brave leader Brian and his hand-selected merry band of pranksters Will and DJ D to do the dirty work! We do a taste test on Grass and Dirt flavored soda pop. So break out the pruning saw, rake, and gardening gloves and join us out in the front lawn for a swig!

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Brian's Top 50 Films of 2016

I must admit halfway through the year I brazenly sulked, thinking, comparatively speaking, 2016 hadn’t thus far came close to the cinematic riches 2015 brought. But by year’s end, compiling recommendations both big and small, from across the globe, my list began to populate exponentially and suddenly I found myself ashamed of my lack of faith just months prior. I suppose it's true that each and every year is a fabulous year for cinema if you take the time to seek it out. This year’s list runs a spectacular gamut from activism to escapism, corpse erections to food truck findings, jazz to punk rock, superficiality to spirituality, but most of all — human connection.

=====================================================


50. A Bigger Splash (Guadagnino)


49. The Club (Larraín)


48. Givertaker (Gandersman)


47. The Love Witch (Biller)




46. The Lobster (Lanthimos)


45. Louder Than Bombs (Trier)


44. No Home Movie (Akerman)


43. Aferim! (Jude)


42. Dheepan (Audiard)


Two Sides of China Documentary Double-Header

41. Hooligan Sparrow (Wang) / Paths of the Soul (Yang)



40. Swiss Army Man (Kwan, Scheinert)


39. Finding Dory (Stanton, MacLane)


38. Elle (Verhoeven)


37. Spa Night (Ahn)


Films About Filmmakers Three-Way Tie

36. De Palma (Baumvach, Paltrow 2015) / Jia Zhangke, a Guy From Fenyang (Salles) / Richard Linklater: Dream Is Destiny (Black, Bernstein)


35. Take Me to the River (Sobel)


34. City of Gold (Gabbert)


33. Cosmos (Zulawski)


32. Sunset Song (Davies)


31. Morris from America (Hartigan)


30. The Handmaiden (Chan-wook)


29. Born to Be Blue (Budreau)



28. La La Land (Chazelle)



27. The Birth of a Nation (Parker)


26. The Treasure (Porumboiu)

=====================================================


25. The Invitation (Kusama)


24. The Neon Demon (Refn)


23. Christine (Campos)


22. Men Go to Battle (Treitz)


21. Embrace of the Serpent (Guerra)


20. 20th Century Women (Mills)


19. Everybody Wants Some!! (Linklater)


18. Miss Stevens (Hart)


17. The Witch (Eggers)


16. Jackie (Larraín)



15. Naz & Maalik (Dockendorf)


14. The Edge of Seventeen (Craig)


13. Green Room (Saulnier)


12. The Fits (Holmer)


11. Manchester by the Sea (Lonegran)


10. American Honey (Arnold)


9. Mountains May Depart (Zhangke)


8. Henry Gamble's Birthday Party (Cone)


7. Paterson (Jarmusch)



6. Cemetery of Splendor (Weerasethakul)


5. Moonlight (Jenkins)


4. Silence (Scorsese)


3. Knight of Cups (Malick)


2. Blue Jay (Lehmann)


1. Certain Women (Reichardt)

=====================================================

Movies Formerly on the List: These are films that were previously on the list during earlier iterations but ultimately didn’t make the final cut. All are certainly worthy of your time and are also recommended. Last Days in the Desert (García), Rams (Hákonarson), Tikkun (Sivan), Under the Shadow (Anvari), Lion (Davis), Arrival (Villeneuve), Hell or High Water (Mackenzie), Francofonia (Sokurov), O.J.: Made in America (Edelman), and Joshy (Baena).

Blindspots: For a variety of reasons there are dozens of movies I desperately wanted to watch but was unable to see before publishing my list. Last year I drug this out until March and didn’t want to repeat that. Three weeks into 2017 I’ve already seen 80+ films but there’s still much I’ve yet to have the pleasure of experiencing. There are films that will be opening in my hometown in the weeks ahead such as The Salesman (Farhadi), Neruda (Larraín), Julieta (Almodóvar), Toni Erdmann (Ade), and I Am Not Your Negro (Peck). Films that I missed while they were playing here Demon (Wrona) and Our Little Sister (Koreeda). Movies I didn’t find time for, be it from my local library such as Indignation (Schamus), The Innocents (Fontaine), The Last Man on the Moon (Craig), Love & Friendship (Stillman) or many titles available via streaming like Aquarius (Filho), Ixcanul (Bustamante), The Wailing (Hong-jin), Other People (Kelly), Little Men (Sachs), The Childhood of a Leader (Corbet), The Measure of a Man (Brizé), The Phenom (Buschel), My Golden Days (Desplechin), SPL II: A Time for Consequences (Pou-soi), Closet Monster (Dunn), and Neon Bull (Mascaro). Lastly, a slate of movies that both didn’t play here nor were easily available for home viewing including Voyage of Time: Life's Journey (Malick), Kaili Blues (Gan), Tower (Maitland), Cameraperson (Johnson), The Alchemist Cookbook (Potrykus), The Illinois Parables (Stratman), Krisha (Shults), Happy Hour (Hamaguchi), The Ornithologist (Rodrigues), Right Now, Wrong Then (Sang-soo), Fire at Sea (Rosi), and Creepy (Kurosawa). This is a long list but also serves a purpose for me personally of films I will need to catch up to in the months ahead.


If you’d like to comment, share your own favorites, champion or ridicule mine, feel free to leave a comment here on the blog, or get at yours truly, the Big Bad Bionic Boy Brian, via the RtW Twitter or Facebook. Be well.